Opinion | Sustainable Population Australia

Opinion

SPA takes on Liz Allen, Australia's extinction crisis, AND revamps our PopForum

 

President message: e-news, Oct 012018

 

SPA’s activism on your behalf continues with our submission to the Senate Environment Committee’s inquiry into ‘Australia’s Faunal Extinction Crisis’. You can read it here: https://population.org.au/articles/2018-09-18/spas-submission-senate-env....

October 5 2018

How do we cut through the arguments?

 

President Message eNews September #2 2018

 

I was talking with our NSW Branch President, Graham Wood, who was expressing despair about a friend of his who was totally dismissive of the concerns that SPA has about the sort of future we face if governments around the world do not address the population issue. He read out to me what he had written in the small hours of the morning in response to that uninformed and dismissive attitude, and he has agreed to share it with you.

September 23 2018

POPULATION: HAVE WE MADE ANY PROGRESS AT ALL?

Jenny Goldie

This title was prompted by a recent question from a member of SPA, who wondered whether the considerable money he had donated over the years had been cost effective.

It led to my reflecting on whether SPA has indeed made any progress over the past 29 years since the organisation was founded.

May 4 2017

Dick Smith Rally at Adelaide Advertiser

Dick Smith, one of Australia's most prominent population campaigners, addressed a rally outside the Adelaide Advertiser protesting press censorship especially on the issue of population and economic growth.

The video of his full speach is now available via Youtube:

August 23 2012

A population parable

Once there was a village with 10 families who shared a 1000 litre waste bin between them. This meant they could each put in 100 litres of waste before the bin was full. The waste collection truck would come each month and swap the bin with another 1000 litre bin.

September 18 2011

High-density housing reflects dense government thinking

We should start out by making it clear that we have no issue with anyone that prefers living in a high-density area or with the free market construction of buildings to fulfill this preference. The issue we have is with the enforced imposition of high density housing upon the bulk of Australians that don’t want it.

 

July 25 2010

Tony Burke shredded by Steve Visard

 

Tony Burke was not able to sidestep discussion of total population numbers for Australia when talking to Steve Visard on Melbourne's MRT1377 on the 18th of May about his recent "Sustainable Population Report".

Steve really hammered home the impossibility of planning for our nation's future without having population targets in mind and clearly showed that Tony Burke is not willing to take any position on population.

This short interview is well worth listening to.

September 16 2011

Articles published in 2011

example of a link

September 16 2011

SBS screens "How many people can live on planet Earth?"

THE MOST important documentary shown on Australian TV since Dick Smith's Population Puzzle - that's Sir David Attenborough's brilliant hour-long special How many people can live on planet Earth?

July 25 2010

Population problem? It’s called longevity

I have a different opinion on the age dependency ratio. I see it as a shining beacon of success.  People are working for shorter periods of their life.  We as a group are finally taking some of our productivity gains of the past half-century in the form of leisure time.  
 
September 16 2011

Pages